Friday, November 9, 2012

Baby G's first photo!


Ok, I'm playing catch-up here's my entry from 8.16.12
So i suck at journaling :) Here's a sweet note Sallie posted on my fb page (before we made baby G fb official) 

"I just saw your baby pin board. I just can't even handle it! Bahhhh On the real, if we knew the sex of the baby I would already be buying baby clothes. Just sayin'... I'm not going to be able to contain myself. Also... It looks like Baby G is going to be born during my spring break. couldnotbebetterifyouhadplannedit! WHOOOOO!" 

I seriously love her!

Here's your first photo :) I put it in a new frame I bought - Grandmother was here to visit and she just thought that it was the cutest thing that I had framed your photo!

You look just like a little peanut! Actually more like an alien :) But we love you just the same :)

Sunday, November 4, 2012

We're pregnant!

We found out in July on vacation at Kiawah Island that we are expecting! I started a journal in a word document but then I decided that I'd really like a place to share with all my friends and family our journey of Baby G! So I'll be playing catch up a little bit! 


7.28.12
Matt asked me today if I had been journaling. I had been thinking that I needed to but had not started to yet. Rewind to 7.18.12 and thus the reason for "needing" to journal. We were at Kiawah Island on vacation with Matt's family. Despite amazing weather and a gorgeous location it had been a pretty sad/stressful week. Heather who was a little over 12 weeks expecting began having some problems and Monday after a trip to the hospital we learned that the baby no longer had a heartbeat. Heather and Will and of course the rest of us were heartbroken. The thought of going on a vacation with a baby and leaving without was difficult for me to imagine. In addition to Heathers heartbreak Nancy was feeling  worse and worse as the week went on with a cold/virus/bug. She spent 2 of the vacation days in the bed. While all of this was going on I was anxiously awaiting my monthly cycle. I was due to start somewhere around the 14th (Sat) by Tuesday I was getting really nervous and started reading articles online about pregnancy on WebMD. After realizing that I had 6 of the 8 symptoms of "early signs of pregnancy" I told Matt we might need to seriously talk about this. Wednesday I was pretty sure I was pregnant but we didn't want to find out while Heather and Will were there and dealing with their loss. So Thursday when Nancy left to take the Hansen's to the airport Matt and I went "shopping" for a pregnancy test. I was so incredibly nervous/anxious/scared. Part of me wanted to just stay in denial a little longer but most of me was dying for confirmation. As we stood looking at the blinking hourglass Matt and I were both on edge. I had glanced away when I heard Matt exclaim "Oh God!" and I knew. We had made a baby! I freaked immediately - crying and saying "but we didn't plan this". Matt was and has been a solid rock and foundation! Even though we hadn't "planned" to get pregnant just yet he has been 100% committed and excited from the moment we saw "pregnant" on that little white stick. It's been 9 days now since then and the emotions & feelings have been all over the place. Telling our families and close friends was of course very fun. Matt's dad asked "So, you guys are not joshing us, huh?" We thought that was fun! We enjoyed hearing Keith tell about the joy of having Heather, Matt and Luke and how he never felt encumbered by their existence. He never felt a loss of freedom or fun and said that he felt they probably did more trips and had a lot of fun that they wouldn't have had just as a couple. We are committed to "keeping it simple" and still doing the majority of the traveling and experiences that we planned to do since Matt graduated and before we had children. A funny side note - just last week during a phone conversation about babies my mom had broken down in tears because she just can't imagine waiting another year before we discuss getting pregnant which was what I had told Matt I wanted to do. All the while I was already with child! The changes in my body and the low energy have really hit me hard this last week. CONSTANT queasy stomach and feeling like my body wants nothing but to sit or lie down has not been fun at all. However I am so thankful that Matt's excitement, encouragement and love has kept me relaxed and focused on how fun this new adventure in our lives will be (even if it wasn't in my plan!). I keep joking with him saying "you love me more now that I'm preggo" which of course is not true - but it is amazing how much closer and more "as one" this experience has made us already. Oh yea, so we went to the Dr. on Thursday. Everything looked good. No due date yet - but they suspect that I am about 6 weeks. I had to have blood-work done and that was the worst part. I literally almost passed out and broke into a nasty cold sweat.  I already weigh 131 lbs! EH! Not so sure how that happened - but we will be sure to keep the diet very healthy and clean and as soon as I feel decent I hope to begin a reasonable "prenatal" fitness plan. So the craziest thing is how quickly life changes. Starting our vacation to the beach we were excited about Matt getting a job soon and enjoying the last few weeks with little to no commitments and we leave the beach wrapping our heads around the fact that in a few short months we will be welcoming an addition to our family! WOW! Matt and i always had a running joke because I liked to claim that we are a "family" even though their was just two of us. Matt always stuck to the argument that we were a "couple" and we would be a family when we had a child. Matt jokingly told me the other day "Now we're a family!". I always made the joking comment to Matt that I was not going to have kids with him. Just joking of course, but I have felt unsure if I would ever be "ready" to start a family. But I guess the joke is on me because I'm pretty sure I was "knocked up" the last time I made that comment to him :)